Product Photos

One of my weaknesses is displaying my work appropriately and giving it proper justice – so this year I’m really trying to tackle this issue.
Playing around with my images, I came up with a few ways to display the finished product.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 17.29.11

This first idea uses a black background and a full view of the label. The dark background definitely makes the whole thing pop. I’ve seen a few designers display their designs like this. I used warp on photoshop to fit the label to the curved bottle shape, then I added another layer of the label behind the bottle. I used a black gradient overlay to outline the shape of the bottle. The bottle itself definitely lets this down – I would obviously find a better example of a bottle or maybe even take a photo of one myself.

962b8aed4f60d38b299a6d5c990dc9e4

Drifwood Brewery

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 19.55.24

I tried out this look on a white background and it really doesn’t work. The white is far too harsh, and the colours actually look a lot duller. Also, the label does need to conform to the shape of the bottle like the first image because otherwise it just looks so flat.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 20.47.38

I also decided that I would definitely need a front and back view of the labels if I didn’t choose the first idea of the spread out label. I also noticed that sometimes the reflection of the bottles is included in the image. This was easy enough to photoshop – I copied the bottles, turned them 180 degrees and used a black gradient overlay over the reflections.
The Empire Gin, Cervecería Sagrada beer.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 21.07.07

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 21.11.46

I also experimented with gradients and texture. I didn’t like how these looked as I felt the textures took away from the beer label design. The white gradient looks okay but a bit fake – it would be better to have a real light source.
Leave a Reply

