Crit

I received some feedback from my tutor about the labels. There are certain areas that need to be changed:
  1. Size of the logo and beer style needs to be larger
  2. The barley and hops need to be larger
  3. The colours need to be brighter
  4. Some experimentation needs to be done in terms of paper and print finishing.
The first thing I changed was the size of the logo and the placement of the illustration. I made the logo a lot bigger and the beer style slightly bigger. I also made the illustration larger and moved it around. I picked brighter colours for the design as well.
I also experimented with some options for foiling on the labels. Due to the theme of ‘antiques’, I think metallic inks or foils would suit the design really well. I tried out both gold and silver. Silver actually looks a lot better with the colour options and style – gold looks a little bit too garish. the silver colour matches the grey of the machinery really well.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 19.20.25Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 19.22.02

 

I didn’t want the logo to be just plain silver foiling – I thought that a drop shadow would look very subtle but still pop.
 Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 19.23.03Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 19.26.37
Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 19.47.39Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 19.48.03
I decided that I want the information on the sides to be printed in plain silver foil, and the logo and beer style to have the drop shadow.
I decided that I preferred a white logo with silver drop shadow so that the logo really stands out. The beer style would look great in just plain silver foil – it will still stand out but the logo is allowed to pop more than everything else.
I also added a thin silver border to the label to finish off the design. I think a plain border adds a finishing touch but doesn’t take too much away from the design, unlike the art nouveau style borders and frames I attempted before.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 22.53.11Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 23.25.52

Although my printer isn’t great, I printed the label out and added silver embellishment with a silver gel pen.

 

I definitely think that the stout looks better as just plain silver. it allows for contrast between the logo and the beer style.
Comparing the two beer labels, the second version is a lot stronger. My printer prints out the colours quite pale – when the design is printed up properly the colours will be very bright. The larger logo looks better close up and from a distance. The silver embellishments do finish off the design which I think is really important.
As well as the label, I decided that the beer bottles need something extra to make them stand out.
I went back through my research and re-discovered the wax seal beer bottle idea from the Opeth beer I looked at.

opethbeer2_638

For my own beer bottle, I thought that adding a silver wax seal would give the bottle something extra, would finish off the design nicely and will compliment the silver foiling on the label. Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 19.55.24
I also thought that ‘ordinary’ bottles could include some kind of freshness seal sticker that matches the artwork. I’m not very keen on this particular idea, I think the bottle looks a bit too overwhelmed with the illustrations.
Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 22.24.12
Instead, a design on the cap might work really well. I created a quick monogram and design using hops, barley and two letters from the logo. This could work nicely as a round sticker that is attached to the beer cap.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 20.02.18

The round sticker is much more cost effective for my client and could be used for ordinary bottles. If the client releases a limited edition beer, the silver wax seal could be added to create a more exclusive, special feel.
I feel that these changes take the design from being ‘good’ to ‘great’. I think that by adding the foiling technique to the label will really lift the design and create the professional look I’m after. The finishing touches of the sticker and wax seal will give the design the interesting look that will stand out amongst other bottles.
Leave a Reply

