Colour Palettes

Based on my client’s suggestions for colours, I came up with a few colour palettes for the different labels.
Each beer style’s label will have its own colour scheme and of course slightly different imagery.
I decided I would stick to 3 colours, to keep things simple as I don’t use colour much so it is a little out of my comfort zone. I picked a dark colour, a lighter colour and a green to compliment the other two. The green colour is for the loose leaves and branches of the plants. I picked two different colours for the barley and hops so they would be indistinguishable from each other. I left the machinery white as a contrast which I think works well. The colours help to make the design less busy because now the different elements are distinguishable.

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 18.17.44

Stout is a winter beer, is dark in colour and traditional labels reflect this. My client said dark browns and purples are picked for labels.

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 18.17.03

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 18.17.10

Initially I was stuck between these browns, so I went for a shade in between them. The darker one was so dark that it almost blended in with the purple, and the lighter one was so bright it looked out of place.

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 18.17.53

Lager is a summer beer, so the colours need to be fairly bright. My client told me that usually the label colours are orange and yellows.

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 18.17.19

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 18.17.24

The first green colour I picked (bottom) blended in too much with the other colours so overall the colour scheme looked far too light. The dark green offers a contrast to the other two lighter, brighter colours.

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 18.18.01

Pale ales are usually pale colours to reflect the colour of the beer. My client mentioned that the colours used on the labels are usually greens and yellows.

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 18.17.29

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 18.17.34

I struggled a little with the colour scheme for this label. Initially the bright yellow I chose was a bit too bright and I felt it didn’t reflect the colour of the ale too well. I toned the yellow down with some more green which I think works better.
Leave a Reply

